Growth Factor 1    
Mr. Olympia
Owner Bio
Lineup of the 1980 Mr. Olympia  
  • The Mr. Olympia has been staged 21 times in the month of September, 13 times in the month of October, and three times in November.
  • In the United States, east of the Mississippi River, the Mr. Olympia has been staged 10 times in New York, New York. Six times in Columbus, Ohio, three times in Atlanta, Georgia; twice in Chicago, Illinois, and once in Orlando, Florida.
  • In the United States, west of the Mississippi River, the Mr. Olympia has only been staged five times, twice in Los Angeles, and three times in Las Vegas.
  • Overseas, the Mr. Olympia has been staged in Paris, France; Essen, Germany; Pretoria, South Africa; Sydney, Australia; London, England; Munich, Germany; Brussels, Belgium; Goteborg, Sweden; Rimini, Italy; and Helsinki, Finland.
  • The first nine Mr. Olympia contests from 1965 to 1973 averaged only 3-4 competitors per contest. Number of contestants in the Mr. Olympia were: 1965 (3), 1966 (4), 1967 (4), 1968 (1), 1969 (3), 1970 (3), 1971 (1), 1972 (5), 1973 (3).
  • In 1974 to 1979, the Mr. Olympia has two classes, over 200, and under 200. The average number of contestants during these years climbed to 9-10 per contest.
  • During 1980 - 1983, the Mr. Olympia averaged 16 competitors per contest.
  • During the Lee Haney Years, 1984 - 1991, the Mr. Olympia averaged 20-21 competitors per contest.
  • During the Dorian Yates Years, 1992 - 1997, the Mr. Olympia averaged 18 competitors per contest.
  • During the Ronnie Coleman Years, 1998-2001 so far, the Mr. Olympia averaged 17 competitors per contest.
  • Of the 10 men who have planted their personal flag atop Mount Olympia, all but two have been repeat winners. The one time champs are Chris Dickerson, and Samir Bannout.
  • Only Larry Scott won the Olympia on his first attempt. The others took two or more tries...
  • The youngest Mr. Olympia competitor was Harold Poole in 1965. He was 21 years old.
  • The oldest Mr. Olympia competitor was Albert Beckles in 1991. He was 53 years old.
  • The youngest Mr. Olympia winner was Arnold Schwarzenegger in 1970. He was 23 years old.
  • The oldest Mr. Olympia winner was Chris Dickerson in 1982. He was 43 years old.
  • The average age of the Mr. Olympia winners is 33 years old.
  • Most Mr. Olympia competitions include Albert Beckles with 13, Shawn Ray with 13, and Samir Bannout with 11.

Compiled from (great Mr. Olympia's Site).

  Designed & Hosted
By ADTech Designs

All works and images shown on this site are the property of Jake Jones
unless otherwise noted. Copyright � 2005 J. L. Jones Enterprises, LLC.